2014: A Reflection

What a year.

At the end of 2013, I begged the new year to bring me something different. Something new. It had been a hard year; I was ready to catch a break.

2014 brought its own dose of struggles. I lost two family members, which was hard. One was quite unexpected, and not the way I thought I’d start my year. But, the years rarely follow our guidance.

As hard as those losses were, 2014 was a fantastic year.

I read a lot. Over 130 books. I went to two amazing concerts. I made some great memories with the best people I know. I forgave. I forgot.

I got into grad school. I moved 1100 miles away to Austin, a city that I’ve grown to love. I’ve met some wondrous new people, who have made the transition easier. And, even though I’m gone, my friendships with people back home are just as strong as they were when I lived there.

I’ve grown. Moving here has helped make me more confident, more self-assured. The transition back into school was tough, and it took me a while to get my feet on the ground, but it’s getting there. I’m getting there.

I guess that’s what my ‘2014 motto’ could be: getting there.

Here’s what I want out of 2015:

–More creative work. It’s fun to be creative; it’s a great outlet. I have to be creative more. This includes writing. I wrote less this year than probably ever, which is sad.

–Start running again. 2015 will be the year of the run.

–Remember. Always remember.

–Read 60 books. 60 diverse books.

–Keep exploring. Keep meeting new people. Keep growing.

Keep on keepin’ on.

Here’s to 2015. May it be as good as 2014.

Leave a Reply

