When Things Are Right

I didn’t really know what to expect when I got here. The first day, I was physically and mentally exhausted. I was completely unsure whether I had made the right decision once N had left, and I fully realised how very alone I was. I jumped to worse-case scenarios. I imagined each and every way I might fail while here. It was a hard night. I’d officially said goodbye to the last shred of home I’d had left. 

It’s been a week now, and I feel tremendously better. I’ve started to learn how to navigate campus without the use of a map. I’ve explored the neighborhood I live in and have found some awesome places to spend my time in. I’ve (mostly) learned my bus schedule. I’ve made friends. I’ve even gotten used to the heat. 

I think the best part has been orientation. It’s been long, and there’s been a lot of information thrown my way, but the administration really drove home the fact that we all deserve to be here. They’ve acknowledged the dreaded impostor syndrome that many of us may come to feel and assured us of our place on campus. At least, they’ve assured me. I get the feeling that they really care about us; they care about our success. It’s a great feeling, knowing that there’s a support group behind you. It eases some of the burden. 

I spent so long worrying about how I’d fit in here, how out of place I would feel. It’s amazing how easily that goes away when things feel right. Every day I’m on campus, every time I have a conversation with someone in my cohort, I know that I made the right decision in coming here. It’ll be tough, and I’ll miss my family and friends back home, but I belong here. I’m right where I should be, even though I know the next six years will bring many challenges and struggles my way. 

So, here we go. 

 

Leave a Reply

