New Beginnings

Last year, I wanted to start a blog. I wanted it to be a journey chronicling who I was, where I’d been, and where I hoped to go. It discussed how my past impacted my present; it listed a series of events that have formed me into a human being I can tolerate (most of the time). 

And I loved that blog. It’s a good blog, I think. The problem with it was the site I chose to use for it. It doesn’t do what I want it to do. I think this site can offer me more opportunities to do different things with my blog. 

So, we’re starting new. As I start this new chapter of my bloglife, I will update and throw in some of my older entries that I really like. 

If you’d absolutely desire an introduction, this is who I am:

I’m twenty-three (going on twenty-four) with a Bachelor’s in English and History from a small university in Wisconsin. I hope to continue my studies in graduate school. I used to want to travel to third world countries and teach people how to read. Literacy remains one of my upmost passions. My favourite colour is blue, my favourite number is nine, I drink far too much coffee, I fall for people completely wrong for me, I don’t properly know how to adult (but who really does), I’m a writer, a reader, a learner. 

I’ve done stupid shit and I’ve had stupid shit done to me. 

I’m a different person from who I was five years ago, three years ago, one year ago, two months ago. But I remember all those identities and, sometimes, I can’t help but channel them.

I’m trying to be the best person I can be. Sometimes, I’m not. But, I’m getting there.

I love totally, completely, and passionately. From working out to the right little black dress, from books to British television shows, I nerd out. And I nerd out often. 

I’m surrounded by loving, amazing people. I don’t know how I got so lucky.

I’ve said my fair share of hellos; I’ve said twice the amount of goodbyes. 

Some days, I know completely who I am. Other days, I couldn’t start to describe myself. 

I guess that’s why I feel the need to blog: I want to figure out all of the tiny components of myself. Maybe, by figuring those pieces out, I can help others jigsaw together their own pieces. 

Every day I work hard to be physically healthy, mentally healthy, and emotionally healthy (“spiritually,” some might say). It is easier some days than others and, at times, it is far easier to be physically healthy than mentally healthy.

I’ve come a long way, but I still have a lot of work left to do. It’s a life process and it will keep changing as I keep changing.

So, let’s change. 

If you’d like to check out the other blog, it still exists: http://daysofgradients.blogspot.com/

 

2 thoughts on “New Beginnings

Leave a Reply

